Founded in 1958 as a result of the “Space Race”, the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology has jurisdiction over much of the non-defense Federal research and development (R&D) portfolio. The Committee plays an important role in much of the legislation Congress has considered dealing with domestic and international science, technology, standards and competitiveness. The Committee has exclusive jurisdiction over the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), National Science Foundation (NSF), National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), and the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP).  The Committee also has authority over R&D activities at the Department of Energy (DOE), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Department of Transportation (DOT), Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), National Weather Service (NWS), and the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).