June 08, 2020


Chairman Hakeem Jeffries and Vice Chair Katherine Clark convened a telephone meeting of the House Democratic Caucus at 4:00 p.m. ET. Members of the Caucus heard brief updates from leadership before engaging in a robust discussion of the transformative Justice in Policing Act of 2020, guided by Congressional Black Caucus Chair Karen Bass and House Judiciary Committee Chairman Jerrold Nadler.

As Speaker Nancy Pelosi, Majority Leader Steny Hoyer, Majority Whip Jim Clyburn and other Members of House Democratic leadership noted, the legislation introduced earlier today represents bold leadership backed by overwhelming public support for police accountability and professionalization across the country. Chair Bass spoke to the vision informing the bill and the importance of raising standards to improve policing in America. Following today’s outstanding introduction of the Justice in Policing Act with over 150 House Democrats as cosponsors, House Democrats’ focus is on ensuring that these critical measures become law. As we proceed with regular order, Chairman Nadler outlined his intention to move forward with a hearing to examine police brutality on Wednesday, June 10 in preparation for a markup of the Justice in Policing Act next week.

Throughout the conversation, Members present for this morning’s historic bill introduction in the Capitol reflected on the experience of taking a knee in Emancipation Hall for eight minutes and 46 seconds in honor of George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor and so many others killed in unjustifiable acts of violence. The Justice in Policing Act would outlaw the barbaric tactic of police kneeling on the neck, or otherwise asphyxiating someone, among other long overdue changes to the culture and practice of policing in our country.

204 Members (86 percent) of the House Democratic Caucus participated in today’s discussion. 19 Members of the Caucus had the opportunity to present a question to leadership. The Caucus is in recess until its next meeting on Thursday, June 11 at 2:00pm ET.